The Beginning of Something Good

So! My first blog post.

I feel like I should be writing something deep and inspiring. Something to ponder, to make you think and reflect…

That probably should be my first post. What you’ll learn very quickly about me, however, is that I’m not really that type of person. Although I envy those who have those abilities, sometimes it’s just nice to have a simple read. That’s a bit more up my alley. So if you’re expecting to be reading something worthy of tea and classical music, then you should probably move along.

Anywho!

My first post will be a simple one instead. It will be about something that we all know and love. Food. 🙂

I am currently on the slow path of losing weight. Which means the food in our house has been of the healthier sort. I find that you can get in a rut very quickly when eating healthy foods, so I’ve been trying hard to think of things that are slightly more exciting. Now I’m an impatient person. So I usually don’t take the time to actually follow someone else’s instructions when looking at recipes for inspiration. Unfortunately, that means that I also don’t carefully measure my own ingredients either. (Oops!) Hopefully that doesn’t stop you from trying to recreate this fun and simple meal, though! I added pictures to help!

The first recipe I will share with you are pita bread pizzas. My family loves pizza. Much to my hips’ dismay. The greasier, cheesier, saucier the better for them! And to be honest, when you’re busy and feeling lazy, they’re just so dang easy. So! I tried my hand at a healthy pizza! You could certainly sub the pita bread for tortillas if you want even less calories, but I’m a bread lover, so I went with pita. 😉

So…

First off ingredients:


Pita bread (6) 

Avocado (1 thinly sliced)

Tomato (2 thinly sliced)

Red Onion (1/4 thinly sliced) 

Prosciutto (3 slices)

Feta Cheese (1/2 cup)

Pesto (1/4 cup) 

Olive Oil (1/2 tbspn) 


Here is the pita bread, tomato, avocado, red onion, tomato, and olive oil. (You will also learn I am a lousy photographer.)

1.Drizzle olive oil onto the pita bread and bake them at 350 for about 5-8 minutes. Just until lightly toasted.

2.Thinly slice the tomato, red onion, and avocado.


3.Take pita bread out of the oven and lay them on a dish.

4.Begin to arrange the avocado, tomato, and red onion on the lightly toasted pita. Put as much as you like, or as little, on each one.

5.Once finished with the above, lightly sprinkle with the feta cheese and then drizzle or dollop the pesto on each piece. It should look like the picture below.

  1. pizza-3

6.Once finished with this, lightly sear the three slices of proscuitto until they are slightly shriveled. Sliced them, or shred them with your fingers and arrange onto pizzas. Once finished it should look like the picture below.

pizza-2

7.I then baked them again on 350 for another 5-8 minutes. Just enough to heat up the pesto and melt the feta a bit.


healthy-pizza

The finished product! These were so light and satisfying! It had a salty, almost sweet, and creamy texture with all the different ingredients and one pizza was more filling than you’d think! This would be super fun to make with kids, and you could substitute the prosciutto for bacon and I’m sure it would taste even better. 🙂 Hope you try this out and enjoy!

Until next time!

-VM

4 thoughts on “The Beginning of Something Good

Leave a Reply

