Black Eyed Peas and Sausage Links

One of my favorite things about Fall isn’t just it’s beautiful array of colors, or the feeling that something new is in the air, or the countdown to Holiday central. No sirs or madams… That is not my favorite thing about Fall. My all time delight with this season is the food. With the cooler weather comes an assortment of hardy and rich recipes that stick to your bones and make you want to curl up with a blanket on the couch. This fact makes me think that my treadmill is going to see many more miles with the weeks to come.

The best indulgences, however, are the soups. You’ve got game day chili, guiness beef stews, vegetable soups, broccoli and cheese, and the list just goes on and on and on.

This year I have made it my goal to try at least a few new soup recipes. The one I’m going to share with you today I was a litte skeptical about. I’m not a huge black eyed pea fan. I feel they have a mealy and just altogether …. bleh… taste to them. But I do love sausage, so I thought I’d give it a go.

This soup is hearty to say the least. It contains rice, sausage, and black eyed peas so a small bowl will take you a long distance. It’s also got a nice kick to it! (If you’re not a spicy fan this is probably not the soup for you.) As my husband stated, “It’s the good kind of hot, not the painful kind.” I guess that’s a good thing! It certainly made my nose run and my glass of water disappear.

The one thing I was missing when making this soup was either some yeast rolls or a nice baguette! So when you make it be sure to not make the same mistake!


Ingredients: 

Yellow Onion (1/2 diced) 

Garlic (3-4 cloves) 

Italian Sausage (4 links – any heat preference) 

Black Eyed Peas (3 cans drained) 

Rotella (1 10oz can – any heat preference) 

Cajun Seasoning (1 tbspn) 

Chicken Broth (4 cups) 

Rice (2 cups – brown or white) 

Olive Oil (1 tbspn) 


1.Cut the sausage links into about 1 inch slices. Then dice the onion and the garlic.


2.Drizzle olive oil onto bottom of pan and let heat up for a minute. Then add sausage and cool until completely bron.

3.Remove sausage, but do not drain.


4.Add diced garlic and onion and cook on medium heat until golden in color.


bep-8

5.Add chicken broth, rotella, and cajun seasoning. Stir and bring to a boil.


6.Once bubbling, add black eyed peas and cooked rice. Bring back to boil, cover, reduce heat to low and let simmer for about an hour. (This is optional, but will help marry the flavors even further)


bep-10

Last but not least! Enjoy the finished product! Again I will say that this soup has a kick. I used mild rotella and mild italian sausages and it still made my nose run a bit. So be mindful of that when picking out the heat indexes of those particular ingredients! Hope you enjoy!

Until next time…

-VM

P.S.

Shameful plug here: bep-7

This chicken broth is amazing. I picked it up at Wegmans for only 4.99! It tastes delicious and is so easy and quick to use! It comes in beef and vegetable broth as well. I highly recommend!

Okay! For real this time.

 

-VM

Leave a Reply

