TCO3: Bloodline

So I have been doing cooking and crafts, (which I will be back to the norm later this week!) but this blog is also intended on family as a whole which also includes entertainment. One of my favorite pass times as a kid (and to this day) is curling up with a good book before bed time. I remember when I was in high school I would have three to four books going at a time. That little stack was my get away from normal day to day stresses and let downs. Those books helped groom me and opened my eyes to what I could be later in my life.

With that being said, I don’t find many other things better for a child or an adult than a book. So this particular blog is a Q&A with the author of The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline. I have the special priveledge of knowing this woman very well, and I’m thankful that she has provided another book that is clean, yet interesting, for me to read with my kids when they’re a little older. I wanted to also help encourage other mothers, (and of course ladies in general) that just because you’ve had children doesn’t mean you have to put your dreams on hold! So here is my interview with the lovely, creative, and talented Tabitha Caplinger!


Where’d you get the idea to do a trilogy instead of one book?

So many YA books run in a series, and I am so very new to the publishing world, that I kind of assumed that was what people wanted, especially in this genre. (paranormal/urban fantasy). The Chronicle of the Three was always in three parts in my head too. (Chronicle of the three, three books, it just felt right.) Honestly, it was like I was visualizing the books like seasons of a tv show, or movies. I am a self proclaimed TV addict, a huge one, so my imagination works in terms of tv. I like the emotion and tension that comes with a cliffhanger. Well, I have a love/hate relationship with it. I love it as a writer and hate it as a reader and tv watcher. But you can’t deny that it keeps you wanting more. I wanted to have that tension in the books, leaving the reader with questions so they will want to come back for more.

Did you have any goals for this collection when you wrote it — to get published, or just to finish, etc.?

At the very beginning I pumped out five chapters and then didn’t touch it for a few months. It seemed like a very large and lofty goal to write a book. So at first it was definitely just to finish the first book. As I got some beta readers who were liking the story and wanting more I was able to keep motivated on that goal and as I closed in on the end of the first book, The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline, it became to get published. I liked my story (I think its super important for an author to enjoy their own story) but other people enjoying it was also a huge confidence boost, giving me the courage to put it out there into the world. Now I want to get the third book finished, wrapping up this trilogy, because I have ideas for the next thing that have me as excited as this story did.

You have a family. What does it look like balancing motherhood, marriage, and writing?

Most days it looks like a hot mess. Balancing anything in life is difficult. There is always one area that is screaming for our time and attention a little louder than the others. The problem comes when the thing that is screaming is the loudest but not the most important. For me keeping balance is all about intentionality. I set certain days aside for ministry work, certain days for writing. I work best in the mornings so I get the most important things done first and save the lazier afternoons for other stuff. I also have certain rituals and traditions with my kids and husband that keep time with them sacred. For instance my oldest daughter and I have movie dates curled up on the couch every weekend when she doesn’t have to comply with a bedtime. My husband and I take fridays when he is off to spend time together. I’ve also learned to push mute on the screaming things when possible, like usually the vacuuming and laundry can wait even though I hate seeing the dog hair and piles of dirty clothes in the morning I am intentional about saving them for the afternoons or evenings when my brain can no longer form the words to make the books.

You are also a youth pastor so you are constantly bombarded by teens and young adults. Did this have any effect on your writing?

I think it is was motivated me to write YA. I spend so much of my time speaking to teens and college students that it only felt natural to gear my writing toward them as well. While a lot of adults have enjoyed my book as well, my heart was really to offer something to those teens that had a message of hope and love, that reminded them that they have purpose.

Tell us about the main character Claire. What was your inspiration behind her?

I probably shouldn’t admit this but Claire was never supposed to be a main character. Zoe was supposed to be center stage but Claire kept stealing the spotlight. It was kind of breaking a YA rule because the YA isn’t the character getting all the attention but I couldn’t help it. I really like Claire. I want to be her. While there is a little piece of me in all of the characters (especially since this is my first book) Claire is the one I most relate to, the one I want to be like. She’s fierce and sassy and brave. I want to be those things.

I want to be Zoe too. Not back in high school, but kind and encouraging, able to face my fears.

I say all that and it really doesn’t answer the question. But there wasn’t a specific inspiration. You could look at my pinterest boards and see who I think should play them in the movie but as far as writing them, it was just who I wish I was in high school, who I want to be now, characters I think people can relate to and want to root for. 

So there are two main characters then? (Sort of) Was it important that you had characters all ages could connect with?

I think for me it was partly having multiple ages to connect with and part a sense of realism, the feeling that even though it’s a young adult book, there needed to be an adult voice helping guide.

Is there a message that you’re hoping readers will get out of the books?

Yes, and I wasn’t even really subtle with it. Well, I was subtle in the story itself but then I went and typed it in black and white on the dedication page. I want readers to know that they are chosen, powerful, loved and never alone. All of have purpose and it may not be to fight real demons but it is to better this world by helping others. I hope that people will see they have purpose and fight for it. 

When can we expect book number 2?

I have been working overtime with my editor to get it ready. Right now it is scheduled to release the beginning of February 2017. That seems so far away but I am really excited about the second book and more details about it will be coming out in November when we reveal the cover. 

What advice would you give to mothers out there just starting their writing careers?

Be intentional. Nothing just happens. You won’t have time for writing, or anything else in life, if you don’t first make the time for it. Have a plan, set realistic goals to get you motivated and then be flexible with yourself if a kid home from school sick means that blog post or chapter has to wait a day. And don’t quit. Success takes time so don’t give up.


tabitha
Tabitha and one of her biggest fans, Lila.

Another reason for posting this today, is that tomorrow she is releasing a preview of the cover to the second book! The Chronicle of the Three: Armor-Bearer! You can purchase her book Bloodline on Amazon and on your Kindles (0.99).  Enter the giveaway with this link. http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/f32920341/?

You can connect with her through these routes:

Email: elevategirlsusa@gmail.com

Facebook: Tabitha Caplinger

Twitter: @tab_caplinger

Visit Tabitha Caplinger on Goodreads

Instagram: @tab_caplinger

Tumblr: Tabitha Caplinger

About The Chronicle of the Three:

Bloodline Zoe thought the loss of her parents would be the most difficult thing she’d ever have to endure. When she began seeing things she couldn’t explain in her new home of Torchcreek, Virginia, she was sure the grief was driving her mad. Instead Zoe discovers she is part of an ancient bloodline, one destined to defeat the powers of darkness from condemning the world. But Zoe, the daughter of the three, isn’t just another descendant, but the key to humanity’s salvation. In this first installment of the paranormal fantasy trilogy The Chronicle of the Three, Zoe Andrews learns that not all shadows are harmless interceptions of light. Some are a more sinister darkness that wants to torment the soul.

book-cover

I hope you enjoyed our Q&A! Purchase a book! Let her know what you think!

Until next time….

-VM

One thought on “TCO3: Bloodline

Leave a Reply

