Avocado…. Cookies?

So, after an incredibly crazy last three weeks, I’m finally able to get my crap together and create another blog post! I wanted to post a long story about the meaning of life and all the lessons I’ve learned over the last three weeks. Honestly the thought exhausted me. So that will have to be for another time. Between holidays, holiday travel, volunteering, a death in the family, a new job, and of course just being parents, it’s been a bit of a whirlwind. It’s been emotionally, mentally, and even physically draining. To the point where I don’t think my brain even properly works. Like… I forgot how to spell ‘what’ the other day. I mean in my defense it’s a weird word. Especially when you keep repeating it to yourself. But still… The struggle is real.

When I got home the last thing I wanted to do was analyze life in it’s entirety. I wanted comfort. And my comfort comes from brownies or cookies. Chocolate cookies. Trying to eat healthier certainly doesn’t make that a guilt free indulgence though. So I went on a pinterest hunt for “healthy” cookies. What did I find? Avocado cookies… Yup. Avocado cookies.

I was skeptical. I mean I LOVE avocados… but in a cookie? Cookies are supposed to be buttery, chewy, or dense. Not… avocado-y. But, I was desperate, so I went for it anyways. I mean… why not?

Ingredients: 

1 Avocado (You need a SUPER ripe one. The mushier the better) 

1 Egg 

1/2 Cup Organic Sugar (Or sugar in the Raw) 

1/2 Cup Cocoa Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/4 Cup Mini Chocolate Chips (Dark Chocolate) 


avacado

1.Cut and pit avocado. Scoop out into a bowl.

2.Add egg.

3.Using hand mixer (you will need the extra power to get it smooth), blend together until smooth.


4. Add sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda and mix well.

5. Add mini chocolate chips and fold into the batter.

6.Preheat oven to 350.

7. Grease baking sheet with either butter or a spray on oil.

8.Using two spoons, scoop a nice rounded spoonful onto the baking sheet and flatten slightly as the cookies won’t spread out nearly as much as a regular cookie.

9.Bake for 8-10 minutes. (10 seems to be the magic number for me.)

10.Let them cool for about 5 minutes before taking off of baking sheet. They will mush together otherwise.


avacado-3

11. Enjoy with a nice cold glass of milk!

The verdict? They are chewy, dense, and yet somehow fluffy. Definitely rich due to the chocolate content. Honestly, if I didn’t see myself scoop the avocado out, I’d have no idea it was in there. My husband and four year old definitely didn’t taste it! My son even went on about how much he hated avocados as he chowed down on one. That is always a Mommy win. 🙂  Let me know what you think! And enjoy a batch of these (almost) guilt free yummies!

Until next time ladies and gents….

-VM

Leave a Reply

